July 4, 2014

PFF Receives the 32nd Kawakita Award!

We are pleased to announce that the Kawakita Memorial Film Institute has awarded Pia Film Festival the 32nd Kawakita Award in recognition of the festival's work to date.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank the many people who have assisted us in various ways over the years.

We are honored to receive this prestigious award, and resolve to continue our work to "discover" and "nurture" talented filmmakers in Japan and to introduce them overseas in an effort to revitalize Japanese cinema and promote international exchange through film.

- Reason for the Award
From the Kawakita Memorial Film Institute press release.

Pia Film Festival (PFF), featuring the PFF Award Competition for self-produced films (jishu-eiga) that presents various prizes to outstanding works, will hold its 36th festival this year. Over the years, PFF has strived to encourage filmmakers from an independent standpoint, for example by implementing the PFF Scholarship system for selected award winners of the festival. By working with other international film festivals, PFF has served to introduce over 100 talented filmmakers to movie circles around the world. To replace the system of training film directors that used to rely solely on major film productions, PFF established an independent system that values the individuality of each filmmaker. The Institute honors the creativity and tireless efforts that went into building this system and the fabulous results it has produced, and awards PFF this year's Kawakita Award.

- What is the Kawakita Award?

The Kawakita Award was founded to commemorate the achievements of the late Nagamasa and Kashiko Kawakita and their daughter Kazuko for over 50 years of efforts to cultivate amicable international relations and a better understanding of Japanese culture through cinema. The Kawakita Memorial Film Institute gives the award annually to an individual or an organization that has significantly contributed to the development of Japanese cinema and/or to the diffusion of Japanese culture over the years through films. Prominent figures in Japanese cinema such as directors Akira Kurosawa, Kon Ichikawa, Kaneto Shindo, Nagisa Oshima, Shohei Imamura, film critic Nagaharu Yodogawa, actors Toshiro Mifune and Tatsuya Nakadai, etc., have received this award to date.

Other PFF handling films

back to pagetop